Just a PSA for those who may also be worried about losing anything.
Any hurricane –
->Take pictures of your valuables AND the stickers with the serial numbers on it.
-> Have all important documents together and with you. This includes but not limited to: Birth Certificates, Social Security information, marriage/divorce certificates and paperwork, bank information, passports, etc.
-> If you evacuate take above important documents along with any weapons. It sounds bad but good chance for looters to get weapons. Even people will still take advantage of others in shitty situations.
-> If you evacuate take any and all medication with you. I am not talking herbal things like fish oil and multivitamins. I’m talking about prescription medication to as little as ibuprofen and Nyquil. Bonus bring a first aid kit.
-> Try. To. Bring. Your. Animals. With. You.
Please put an effort to try. If anything most people are told to let them loose.
Do. Not. Leave. Them. Tied. Up. Or. In. A. Kennel. Locked. In. Your. Home.
Take a picture of them as well. In case the apca catches them and put them in kennels for people to find after the storm.
-> This past hurricane they have been requesting people to write their phone number on live stock hooves should they be lost to contact owners.
-> Items may be lost and you can get most of them back. However there is only one of you. You, family members, and pets. Please be safe.
This is not limited to Hurricanes!
Not just hurricanes. Floods, fires, and tornadoes too.
Though… my mom’s aunt’s family lived in an area that was basically a bowl and would flood during every rainstorm. Back in the 70s and 80s things were more lax and to cheat the system they lied and said they owned more than whatever they did so the insurance company would replace their stuff plus give them new stuff. They would pawn the new stuff to make more money, and this happened a lot.
They can’t be as easily tricked these days. Keep receipts. Take photos of everything. Because people like the aunt’s family stole a lot of things and helped make the problem worse for those who actually need help. Insurance companies don’t even believe you when you have proof now thanks to such people but you need to cover all the bases as much as you can.
Advice for anyone evacuating from hurricane Florence, stay safe 💚
If you ever have time, GET OFFICIAL COPIES of literally everything. Mail them to someone/somewhere out of danger.
I’m not kidding when I say that documents relating to property and land are often the last to be digitized or archived securely. You need those for insurance claims.
I’ll add that you should upload official copies of your important documents as well as time-stamped pictures of your expensive stuff to the Cloud. Upload all those files somewhere that will be accessible even if you lose everything but the clothes on your back.
When my house was robbed insurance paid us nothing because we couldn’t prove we owned most of the property that was stolen. So yeah that was fun.
So, it seems the worst happened today. EU parliament approved Censorship Law, which will require sites to monitor copyrighted material. In a worst case scenario, this means EU countries will be cut off from sites, which host copyrighted material, like Tumblr, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram – and possibly, Patreon and Webtoons.
I will keep my eyes open and if cutting happens, I’ll be using VPN/Tunnelbear as much as possible to see if I can avoid this. Everything is still a hassle and no one knows what happens.
In the very, very, very worst case scenario, FUZZY stops running in 2019, because I lose access to pages where I can host FUZZY. If that would happen, so that Tunnelbear can’t help either, I hope to make a mailing list where I can share the comic.
I’m sad things went this way in EU.
I will keep each and everyone of you updated!
– Niu
EDIT: Got more info:
The last voting / accepting regarding Article 13 will happen in January 2019 so until then we still have time to fight and demand internet to stay free! Here’s some little parts what I picked from online about Article 13:
“Before existing copyright laws can be updated, however, the approved copyright law bill will now pass for approval to the European Commission, the EU’s executive arm, and the leaders of the EU’s 28-member states.”
“What’s clear is that if the Copyright Directive receives final approval by the European Parliament in January, it will have a huge, disruptive impact on the internet, both in the European Union and around the world.”
“Today’s vote is not the end of the story, though: every amendment approved today will have to undergo another round of behind-closed-doors negotiations between EU politicos and EU member states, before going again through a vote in January 2019. The meme war is far from over.”
Terry Crews came out and admitted he had been sexually assulted by someone in the film industry, and is now being blacklisted. I have been a fan of his since Idiocracy, and will continue to support all of his work.
So when you wonder why people don’t come forward with their assults, this is why.
Where are all the bitch men who ask about male sexual assault when the focus is on women but are dead silent when men are actually at the focus.
It’s almost as if Men’s Rights Activists don’t really care about men’s rights. Hmmm….
🤔
Yep….
This misses the really powerful piece of the story: Terry Crews was the one who chose not to do the movie. One of the producers told him, essentially, that he could either do the movie and be drop the sexual assault charges, or continue with the trial and have “troubles”. Terry dropped out because he felt standing against abusers was more important than his film career.
It’s bullshit that he was threatened in the first place, of course, but his response was ballsy. I admire him for it.
Can someone please tell me this was a pair that was trying to do the death spiral that mating birds of prey do, and somehow in the process they ended up stuck on a road sign.
Because if it is, this is definitely one of the funniest “Okay, maybe we WERE a little bit over our head when we started this…” moments.
I doubt it. One of these birds is a juvenile (the top) while the other is an adult (bottom). The juvenile would have no interest in mating.
Honestly when I see hawks doing stupid stuff 9/10 times its a harris hawk—this seriously just looks like one of those stupid hawks time. They are one of the only social raptors, so this leads to some funny things, like
Stacking
The harris hawk argument for stacking is “your back is less Pokey than a cactus so imma use it”
Not even falconers are safe…
They even hold hands
Please, what are you doing harris hawks, learn how to hawk